22 June 2012
12. MFF T-Mobile Nowe Horyzonty announces juries

Poland’s biggest film festival, the T-Mobile New Horizons IFF in Wrocław, announced its juries in four competitions. This year’s jurors are a mix of acclaimed filmmakers and industry professionals.

The main New Horizons International Competition will be judged by a group of acclaimed and uncompromising filmmakers: Urszula Antoniak (Code Blue), Naomi Kawase (The Mourning Forest), Amat Escalante (Los Bastardos), Lav Diaz (Century of Birthing) and Wrocław-based Przemysław Wojcieszek (Secret).  This group will award one film with 20.000 EUR and distribution guarantee in Poland. Other prizes in this competition are: Audience Award and FIPRESCI award.

FIPRESCI Jury in the New Horizons International Competition will comprise of journalists: Alison Frank (UK), Müge Turan (Turkey) and Aleksandra Salwa (Poland).

The Films On Art International Competition (10.000 EUR Prize and distribution guarantee) Jury will include visual artists and filmmakers , James Benning (Ruhr) and Zbigniew Libera, actress  and director Susanne Sachsse (Bruce LaBruce’s The Raspberry Reich) as well as festival programmers, Rebecca De Pas (FID Marseille) and Sean Farnel.

Films awarded the Grand Prix, Audience Award and Fipresci Award in the New Horizons International Competition and the winner of the Films On Art International Competition are guaranteed all-rights distribution by the New Horizons Association.

For the first time, the festival will have juries in the short films competitions. The idea behind that was to show Polish short films to talent-spotters and industry decision makers. This year’s Polish Shorts Competition jury includes Florian Weghorn (Co-Director of Berlinale Generation), Ed Lawrenson (Journalist, Editor of RIFF’s Daily Tiger) and Anna MacDonald (co-founder and joint principal of the London Film Academy). London Film Academy will also give an extra award in this competition consisting of a full scholarship on one of LFA's Specialized Courses and accommodation in London for the duration of the course.

In the European Shorts Competition, the jury is made of Polish professionals: composer Antoni Komasa-Łazarkiewicz (In Darkness), Urszula Skassa (short films acquisition executive for Canal+ Poland), and director Jakub Czekaj (Don’t be Afraid of the Dark Room).

12th edition archive website (year 2012).
Go to the current edition website:
July 2012
161718 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Go to the cycle
for film / director / concert
Day-to day Index of films My plan Festival Club in Arsenal
follow us!
© Stowarzyszenie Nowe Horyzonty
created by: Pracownia Pakamera
Terms and Conditions ›